Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Big Ideas Kill International Development and Relief?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Big Ideas Kill International Development and Relief?

I'm fairly new to the international development community, but I just read this great article on the New Republic site...

Click here to view the article.
    Live your dream, don't dream your life.
    Chris L-S, CEO/Owner/Administrator, Disaster.Com

My thoughts are that many organizations and rich people are not taking enough time to really get to know the needs and culture of the people they are wanting to help. Without cultural understanding their plans do not work well because they are foreign concepts to the people and not something the people understand to be helpful and thus may not want to continue. For instance, if in a certain culture, girls do not go to school because school is not something they need in their traditional roles in the family, you can't just come in a set up a school for girls because the families will not see any point in sending their daughters when the girls could be working at home. Before you can get girls educated, you have to convince the people that there is a practical reason for girls to be educated.

Comment

I have been thinking along these same lines for some time now. Having participated in recent relief operations, I know for a fact that many government units and non-profit organizations equate disaster relief with donations. They think that donations alone can uplift communities scarred by tragedy when in the first place, there's more to be done than simply giving out resources. Some do offer stress management seminars, but even those efforts aren't enough to help victims overcome the trauma they just went through. In a previous post, I cited the role of empowerment modules and/or programs in helping victims see the need to move forward and use their situation as their source of strength for the future.

Comment